Committee Purpose and Members

The purpose of the Digital Technology Accessibility Committee is to bring together expertise and stakeholders to discuss, research and make policy and action recommendations to Information Technology (IT) leadership in order to ensure accessibility of University of Maine System Information Technology (UMS:IT) services.

  • Improve awareness of IT accessibility needs, challenges and strategies
  • Lead ongoing evaluation of IT service accessibility, including the development of appropriate key performance indicators for use and reporting by IT units
  • Identify accessibility law, regulation and policy compliance challenges
  • Communicate IT accessibility (issues, concerns, updates, strategies, etc.) to stakeholders
  • Make recommendations to the University of Maine System (UMS) Chief of Information (CIO) for policies, projects and standards related to IT accessibility
  • Make recommendations, in conjunction with the CIO, to other areas, such as Human Resources, academic leadership, procurement, etc., related to IT accessibility
  • Recognize IT accessibility leaders and accomplishments in the UMS

Please direct questions about the committee to either of the co-chairs or by email to:

Current DTAC Membership – 2021

University Role
Heather Nunez-Olmstead – Co-chair Instructional Design Specialist, Part-Time Faculty University of Maine at Presque Isle
Michael Cyr – Co-chair ICT Accessibility Coordinator (Director Architecture/Service Management) UMS Information Technology
Amanda Paradis ADA Coordinator University Services Human Resources
Joanne Benica Director of Academic Support for Students With Disabilities (former co-chair) University of Southern Maine
Faculty currently open
John Brandt Training/Operations Coordinator MaineCITE
Library currently open
Michael Matis Senior Academic Technologist University of Southern Maine
Amy Sturgeon Asst. Director – Disability Support Services University of Maine
Zachary Sylvester Web Design Manager UMS Information Technology
Floyd White Accessibility Specialist State of Maine Office of Information Technology (retired)
Student currently open
Blaire Knight-Graves Digital Content Specialist University of Maine System