University of Maine System announces COVID-19 vaccine requirements for students for the fall 2022 semester

Orono, Maine — The University of Maine System (UMS) has announced its COVID-19 vaccine requirements for students for the fall 2022 semester.

To study or participate in any in-person activities at Maine’s public universities, students must be fully vaccinated — receive all primary doses in a two-dose vaccine or complete a single-dose one — or obtain a UMS-approved medical, religious or remote learning-only exemption.

Students must submit proof of vaccination or request an exemption by Aug. 31. New students can provide their information and exemption requests by completing the “COVID Vaccine/Exemption Docs” found in the Student Center main page under “To Do List,” while returning students can do so using the UMS COVID-19 portal (External site).

Officials strongly encourage students to obtain a COVID-19 vaccine booster when eligible, not only to prevent serious illness from the disease, but also in case the System shifts to requiring one in response to changing pandemic conditions. Students who do not receive a booster will have to quarantine for at least five days if they come in close contact with someone who tests positive for COVID-19, per current CDC protocols.

Anyone, including students, traveling outside of Maine, both domestically and internationally, for university-related activities must obtain a COVID-19 test within 72 hours of departure and return unless they are fully-vaccinated and have not tested positive for the disease in the past 90 days. All travel must comply with visa, U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and U.S. Department of State requirements, as well as Maine Civil Authority and System guidance.

More information can be found on the Together for Maine website.

“Currently improving conditions of the COVID-19 pandemic are encouraging, but we are not out of the woods just yet,” says Chancellor Dannel Malloy. “Getting vaccinated and, when eligible, boosted remain the best defenses against the disease. Currently, 97.7% of our residential students and 95.9% of our nonresidential students are already in compliance with our COVID-19 guidance for fall. I’m thankful for our students’ dedication to their own health and safety, and the welfare of everyone across our university communities.”

Face coverings continue to be optional for students, faculty, staff and visitors in its non-classroom facilities on campuses and in UMS facilities statewide, both indoors and out, regardless of vaccination status. They are, however, needed in all classrooms, research spaces and instructional areas unless the requirement is waived by a faculty member.

UMS also necessitates face coverings for public events in its facilities that welcome 75 or more persons, unless proof of COVID-19 vaccination or a negative test result is required. All UMS event organizers have the option to require face coverings.

About the University of Maine System

Established in 1968, the University of Maine System (UMS) unites seven Maine’s distinctive public universities, comprising 10 campuses and numerous centers, in the common purpose of providing quality higher education while delivering on its traditional tripartite mission of teaching, research, and public service.

In 2020 UMS became the first and only statewide enterprise of public higher education in the country to transition to a unified accreditation for the system. Much different than a merger or consolidation, unified accreditation is a new operating model for the University of Maine System that removes the primary barrier to inter-institutional collaboration.

A comprehensive public institution of higher education, UMS serves more than 30,000 students annually and is supported by the efforts of more than 2,000 full-time and part-time faculty, more than 3,000 regular full-time and part-time staff, and a complement of part-time temporary (adjunct) faculty.

Reaching more than 500,000 people annually through educational and cultural offerings, the University of Maine System also benefits from more than two-thirds of its alumni population residing within the state; more than 123,000 individuals.

The System consists of seven main campuses: The University of Maine (UMaine), including its regional campus the University of Maine at Machias (UMaine Machias); the University of Maine at Augusta (UMA); the University of Maine at Farmington (UMF); the University of Maine at Fort Kent (UMFK), the University of Maine at Presque Isle (UMPI); and the University of Southern Maine (USM). The System also includes a UMA campus in Bangor, USM campuses in Gorham and Lewiston-Auburn, the University of Maine School of Law, and the University of Maine Graduate and Professional Center.

Please follow these links to the UMS Logo, UMS and individual university style guides and an image and biographical information for Chancellor Malloy.