Contact Maine Geospatial Institute (MGI):

For MGI information and inquiries, please contact Eileen Moran at eileen.moran@maine.edu.


Meet the Executive Committee:

photo of Matthew BamptonMatthew Bampton
Email: bampton@maine.edu
Professor of Geography, Muskie School of Public Service
University of Southern Maine
Areas of expertise: GIS, geography, developing models

photo of Kate BeardKate Beard
Email: kate.beard@maine.edu
Professor in the School of Computing and Information Science, member of the Spatial Information Science Engineering faculty
University of Maine at Orono

photo of matt dubeMatt Dube
Email: matthew.dube@maine.edu
Assistant Professor of Computer Information Systems and Data Science
University of Maine at Augusta
MGI Treasurer
Areas of expertise: GIS, spatial reasoning, sensors, social applications

photo of tony guayTony Guay
Email: anthony.p.guay@maine.edu
Remote Sensing Specialist
Wheatland Geospatial Lab www.wheatlandlab.org
School of Forest Resources, University of Maine at Orono
Areas of expertise: GIS, Remote Sensing, Lidar, UAS, Machine Learning, Modeling, Remote Sensing Applications in Forestry

photo of tora johnsonTora Johnson
Email: tjohnson@maine.edu
Associate professor, director of the GIS Lab & Service Center
University of Maine at Machias
Areas of expertise: GIS, environmental studies

photo of Cynthia LoftinCynthia Loftin
Email: cynthia.loftin@maine.edu
Unit Leader
U.S. Geological Survey, Maine Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit; Associate Professor, Wildlife, Fisheries, and Conservation Biology
University of Maine at Orono; MGI Executive Committee Chair https://www1.usgs.gov/coopunits/Maine
Areas of expertise: systems ecology, landscape ecology, wetlands ecology, wildlife habitat relationships

photo of Matthew McCourtMatthew McCourt
Email: matthew.mccourt@maine.edu
Associate Professor of Geography
University of Maine at Farmington
Areas of expertise: GIS, community planning

Neil Thompson
Email: neil.thompson@maine.edu
Irving Woodlands Assistant Professor of Forestry
University of Maine at Fort Kent
Areas of expertise: GIS, remote sensing, forestry

photo ofVinton Valentine
Email: vinton.valentine@maine.edu
Director of GIS and adjunct faculty
University of Southern Maine
Areas of expertise: GIS, remote sensing, ecology

photo of Chunzeng WangChunzeng Wang
Email: chunzeng.wang@maine.edu
Professor in Earth and Environmental Sciences
University of Maine at Presque Isle
Areas of expertise: GIS, drone (UAV), GPR, geology