UMS Holiday Schedule: 

Fiscal Year 2020 Fiscal Year 2021
Independence Day* – Thursday, July 4, 2019 Independence Day* – Saturday, July 4, 2020 (Observed Friday, July 3, 2020)
Labor Day* – Monday, September 2, 2019 Labor Day* –  Monday September 7, 2020
Indigenous Peoples’ Day** – Monday, October 14, 2019 Indigenous Peoples’ Day –  Monday, October 12, 2020
Veteran’s Day** – Monday, November 11, 2019 Veteran’s Day – Wednesday, November, 11, 2020
Thanksgiving Day* – Thursday, November 28, 2019 Thanksgiving Day* – Thursday, November 26, 2020
Day after Thanksgiving* – Friday, November 29, 2019 Day after Thanksgiving* –  Friday, November 27, 2020
Christmas Day* – Wednesday, December 25, 2019 Christmas Day* – Friday, December 25, 2020
New Year’s Day* – Wednesday, January 1, 2020 New Year’s Day* – Friday, January 1, 2021
Martin Luther King Jr. Day** – Monday, January 20, 2020 Martin Luther King Day – Monday January 18, 2021
 Presidents’ Day** – Monday, February 17, 2020 Presidents’ Day – Monday, February 15, 2021
Patriot’s Day** – Monday, April 20, 2020 Patriot’s Day – Monday, April 19, 2021
Memorial Day* – Monday, May 25, 2020 Memorial Day* – Monday, May 31, 2021

For planning purposes, please note the following important religious holidays:

Fiscal Year 2020 Fiscal Year 2021
Eid al Adha — August 10-11, 2019 -– Islam Eid al Adha* -– – July 30 – 31, 2020 – Islam
 Rosh Hashanah – September 29 – October 1, 2019) – Jewish Rosh Hashanah* – September 18 – 20, 2020  – Jewish
Yom Kippur – October 8 – 9, 2019 – Jewish Yom Kippur* -– September 27 – 28, 2020 Jewish
Diwali – Deepavali – October 27, 2019 – Hindu-Sikh-Jain Diwali – Deepavali** -– November, 14, 2020 —  Hindu-Sikh-Jain
Good Friday – April 10, 2020 – Christian Good Friday –– April 2, 2021 — Christian
Ramadan begins – April 23, 2020 – Islam Ramadan begins* -– April 12, 2021 — Islam
Eid al Fitr – May 23-24, 2020 – Islam Eid al Fitr* -– May 12 – 13, 2021 — Islam

*Premium holiday pay; refer to collective bargaining agreements or employee handbooks (found on Human Resources front page under Employee Handbooks).

**Employees represented by collective bargaining agents will be governed by the provisions of their collective bargaining agreements.

It is important to remember that our faculty, staff, and students are from varied religious and cultural backgrounds which serve to enrich and strengthen our community. Any event scheduled on a major religious or cultural holiday can send a message of insensitivity or exclusivity to staff and students who cannot participate that day due to their religious beliefs. Therefore, please remind staff to avoid scheduling important meetings, exams, or other essential events on such dates whenever possible and to accommodate the observance of religious traditions for those staff and students who need to be absent for religious holidays throughout the year.