Chancellor Malloy applauds Governor’s proposed appropriation in public university affordability, urges Legislature’s support

In her State of the State address, Governor Mills announces proposed FY22–23 supplemental budget will include additional appropriation to allow the University of Maine System to maintain in-state tuition prices through the pandemic

Orono, Maine — University of Maine System (UMS) Chancellor Dannel Malloy released the following statement in response to Gov. Janet Mills’ announcement tonight in her State of the State address that she would be proposing additional appropriation in her forthcoming FY22–23 supplemental budget to offset an in-state tuition increase next year at Maine’s public universities.

“Our commitment to affordability is one of the many ways we prioritize students and their success,” said Chancellor Malloy. “The support of the state has been essential to our mission and keeping the cost of higher education within the means of Maine families.

“We are grateful for the governor’s leadership and support. If her appropriations package is passed by the Legislature, our University of Maine System universities will hold tuition flat for in-state students in the upcoming academic year.”

If the governor’s proposal is enacted, fall 2022 will be the eighth out of the last 11 academic years when Maine students are able to begin a new academic year without a tuition increase.

Chancellor Malloy attended Mills’ State of the State address along with Joan Ferrini-Mundy, University of Maine (UMaine) President and UMS Vice Chancellor for Research and Innovation.

In her remarks, Mills lauded the news that UMaine has been designated an R1 doctoral research university by the prestigious Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education (External site). Only 146 universities — 3.7% of the nation’s degree-granting postsecondary institutions — have the highest-possible R1 designation signifying “very high research activity.”

“Our faculty and staff are committed to creating knowledge and growing UMaine’s research enterprise in service to our students and the communities and people of Maine,” said Ferrini-Mundy. “An R1 designation is a globally recognized standard of research activity and brings with it more investment, innovation, and workforce and economic development opportunities for our state.

“State investment in the University of Maine and important initiatives like the Maine Economic Improvement Fund drive discovery rooted in Maine,” continued Ferrini-Mundy. “We are grateful for the partnership and support we receive from Governor Mills and her administration, the Legislature and Maine’s congressional delegation.”

About the University of Maine System

Established in 1968, the University of Maine System (UMS) unites seven distinctive public universities, comprising 10 campuses and numerous centers, in the common purpose of providing quality higher education while delivering on its traditional tripartite mission of teaching, research, and public service.

In 2020 UMS became the first and only statewide enterprise of public higher education in the country to transition to a unified accreditation for the system.  Much different than a merger or consolidation, unified accreditation is a new operating model for the University of Maine System that removes the primary barrier to inter-institutional collaboration.

A comprehensive public institution of higher education, UMS serves more than 30,000 students annually and is supported by the efforts of more than 2,000 full-time and part-time faculty, more than 3,000 regular full-time and part-time staff, and a complement of part-time temporary (adjunct) faculty.

Reaching more than 500,000 people annually through educational and cultural offerings, the University of Maine System also benefits from more than two-thirds of its alumni population residing within the state; more than 123,000 individuals.

The System consists of seven main campuses: The University of Maine (UMaine), including its regional campus the University of Maine at Machias (UMM); the University of Maine at Augusta (UMA); the University of Maine at Farmington (UMF); the University of Maine at Fort Kent (UMFK), the University of Maine at Presque Isle (UMPI); and the University of Southern Maine (USM).  The System also includes a UMA campus in Bangor, USM campuses in Gorham and Lewiston-Auburn, the University of Maine School of Law, and the University of Maine Graduate and Professional Center.

Please follow these links to the UMS Logo, UMS and individual university style guides and an image and biographical information for Chancellor Malloy.