1. Home » About the System » Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

The University of Maine System is committed to educational excellence amongst its seven public universities. The Board of Trustees oversees the System in areas such as academic programs, faculty tenure, tuition rates and operating budgets.

The Board consists of 16 members, 15 of which are appointed by the Governor and approved by the Maine Legislature. The Maine Commissioner of Education serves as a member ex officio. Members are appointed for a five-year term and may be reappointed once. A student member of the Board is appointed for a single two-year term.

The Clerk of the Board, Tracy B. Bigney, administers all functions necessary to the conduct of its responsibilities.  Contact the Board of Trustees Office at: ums.trustees@maine.edu.

Smiling graduates