1. home About the System

About the System

Aerial view of USM campus

USM Campus, Portland

Established in 1968, the University of Maine System is the state’s largest educational enterprise.

It has an annual enrollment of nearly 40,000 students and serves over 500,000 individuals annually through educational and cultural offerings.

Two-thirds of its alumni—approximately 120,000 people—live in Maine.

The University of Maine System features seven universities —some with multiple campuses—located across the state, as well as eight University College outreach centers, a law school, an additional 31 course sites, and Cooperative Extension.

The University of Maine System office is located in downtown Bangor. This office houses both the system-wide services and the governance functions of the UMS.