Your Right to Know: Freedom of Access Requests

“The public’s right to information about government activities lies at the heart of a democratic government. The Maine Freedom of Access Act (“FOAA”) grants the people of this state a broad right of access to public records while protecting legitimate governmental interests and the privacy rights of individual citizens. The act also ensures the accountability of the government to the citizens of the state by requiring public access to the meetings of public bodies. Transparency and open decision-making are fundamental principles of the Maine Freedom of Access Act, and they are essential to ensuring continued trust and confidence in our government.”
(From www.maine.gov/foaa/ (External Site))

University of Maine System – Public Access Officer

James Thelen, Chief of Staff and General Counsel
46 University Drive
Augusta, Maine 04330
Phone: 207-621-3441
Fax: 207-621-3074
Email: FOAA@maine.edu

The State Freedom of Access Act requires the University of Maine System to designate a public access officer to serve as the contact person with regard to requests for public records.

Because the University of Maine System consists of System-wide Services, the Chancellor’s Office, and seven universities, records are not centrally located. The following are the designated contacts for particular records and the public access officer is available to respond to or assist with requests, and answer any questions.

University of Maine:

Kimberly Whitehead, Chief of Staff
Phone: 207-581-1512
Email: kimberly.whitehead@maine.edu

University of Maine at Augusta:

Domna Giatas, Executive Director of Communications and Planning
Phone: 207-621-3495
Email: domna.giatas@maine.edu

University of Maine at Farmington:

Laurie Gardner, Executive Director for Finance and Administration
Phone: 207-778-7272
Email: lgardner@maine.edu

University of Maine at Fort Kent:

Pamela Ashby, Chief Business Officer
Phone: 207-834-7550
Email: pam.ashby@maine.edu

University of Maine at Machias:

Daniel Qualls, Interim Vice President of Academic Affairs and Head of Campus
Phone: 207-255-1210
Email: daniel.qualls@maine.edu

University of Maine at Presque Isle:

Rachel Rice, Director of Community and Media Relations
Phone: 207-768-9452
Email: rachel.rice@maine.edu

University of Southern Maine:

Jared Cash, Vice President of Enrollment Management
Phone: 207-780-4770
Email: jcash@maine.edu

University of Maine System:

Media, Legislative, and Other Requests:

Dan Demeritt, Executive Director of Public Affairs
Phone: 207-441-6962
Email: dan.demeritt@maine.edu

Finances and Procurement:

Rudy Gabrielson, Chief Procurement Officer
Phone: 207-780-4235
Email: william.gabrielson@maine.edu

Human Resources:

Chris Lindstrom, Co-Interim Chief Human Resources Officer
Phone: 207-581-1543
Email: chris.lindstrom@maine.edu

Tracy Elliott, Co-Interim Chief Human Resources Officer
Phone: 207-581-5492
Email: tracye@maine.edu

Facilities:

Chip Gavin, Chief Facilities Management and General Services Officer
Phone: 207-621-3482
Email: chip.gavin@maine.edu