1. home About the System System Office Human Resources Holiday Schedule

Holiday Schedule

 

Fiscal Year 2018
Fiscal Year 2019
Independence Day* – Tuesday, July 4, 2017Independence Day* – Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Labor Day* – Monday, September 4, 2017Labor Day* – Monday, September 3, 2018
Columbus Day – Monday, October 9, 2017Columbus Day – Monday, October 8, 2018
Veteran’s Day – Saturday, November 11, 2017 (date allowed is Friday, November 10)Veteran’s Day – Sunday, November 11, 2018 (date allowed is Monday, November 12)
Thanksgiving Day* – Thursday, November 23, 2017Thanksgiving Day* – Thursday, November 22, 2018
Day after Thanksgiving Day* – Friday, November 24, 2017Day after Thanksgiving Day* – Friday, November 23, 2018
Christmas Day* – Monday, December 25, 2017 Christmas Day* – Tuesday, December 25, 2018
New Year’s Day* – Monday, January 1, 2018
New Year’s Day* – Tuesday, January 1, 2019
Martin Luther King Day – Monday, January 15, 2018Martin Luther King Day – Monday, January 21, 2019
Presidents’ Day – Monday, February 19, 2018Presidents’ Day – Monday, February 18, 2019
Patriot’s Day – Monday, April 16, 2018Patriot’s Day – Monday, April 15, 2019
Memorial Day* - Monday, May 28, 2018Memorial Day* - Monday, May 27, 2019
For planning purposes, please note the following important religious holidays:
Eid al Adha* - September 1-4, 2017 – IslamEid al Adha* - August 20-21, 2018 – Islam
Rosh Hashanah* - September 20, 2017 (sundown) – JewishRosh Hashanah* - September 9-11, 2018 (sundown) – Jewish
Yom Kippur* - September 30, 2017 – JewishYom Kippur* - September 18-19, 2018 – Jewish
Diwali – Deepavali** - October 19, 2017 – Hindu-Sikh-JainDiwali – Deepavali** - November 7, 2018 – Hindu-Sikh-Jain
Good Friday – March 30, 2018 – ChristianGood Friday – April 19, 2019 – Christian
Ramadan begins* - May 16, 2018 – IslamRamadan begins* - May 5, 2019 – Islam
Eid al Fitr* - June 15-17, 2018 – IslamEid al Fitr* - June 4-5, 2019 – Islam

*Premium holiday pay; refer to collective bargaining agreements or employee handbooks.

**Employees represented by collective bargaining agents will be governed by the provisions of their collective bargaining agreements.

It is important to remember that our faculty, staff, and students are from varied religious and cultural backgrounds which serve to enrich and strengthen our community. Any event scheduled on a major religious or cultural holiday can send a message of insensitivity or exclusivity to staff and students who cannot participate that day due to their religious beliefs. Therefore, please remind staff to avoid scheduling important meetings, exams, or other essential events on such dates whenever possible and to accommodate the observance of religious traditions for those staff and students who need to be absent for religious holidays throughout the year.