

NEW ENGLAND ASSOCIATION OF SCHOOLS & COLLEGES, INC. COMMISSION ON INSTITUTIONS OF HIGHER EDUCATION

PATRICIA MAGUIRE MESERVEY, Chair (2017)

Salem State University

DAVID P.ANGEL, Vice Chair (2015)

Clark University

G. TIMOTHY BOWMAN (2015) Harvard

University

DAVIDE, A CARSON (2015)

Hartford, CT

THOMAS L. G. DWYER (2015) Johnson & Wales University

JOHN F. GABRANSKI (2015) Haydenville, MA

WILLIAM F. KENNEDY (2015)

Trustee Member

KARENT MUNCER (2015) Brandeis University CHRISTINE ORTIZ (2015)

Massachusetts hstitute of Technology

JONS. OXMAN (2015)

Auburn.ME

JACQUELINE D. PITTRSON (2015)

College of the Holy Cto5 ROBERT L. PURA (2015)

Greenfield Community College

REV. BRIAN CSHANLEY, O.P, (2015) Providence College

JEAN A. WYLD (2015)

Springfield College JEFFERY R. GODLEY (2016)

Groton. CT LILY S. HSU (2016)

MCPHS University

JAY V. KAHN (2016) Keene Stale College

WILFREDO NIEVES (2016)

Capitol Community College

LINDA S. WELLS (2016)

Boston University KASSANDRA S. ARDINGER (2017)

Concord, NH

THOMAS S. EDWARDS (2017)

Thomas College

MARY ELLEN JUKOSKI (2017) Three Rivers Community College

PETER J. LANGER (2017)

University of Massachusetts Boston

DAVID L. LEVINSON (2017) Norwalk Community College

LYNNC PASQUERELLA (2017)

Mount Holyoke College

THOMAS CHRISTOPHER GREENE (2018)

Vermont College of Fine Arts HAROLD O. LEVY (2018)

Trustee Member

President of the Commission

BARBARA F BRITTINGHAM bbrittingham@neasc.org

Senior Vice President of the Commission PATRICIA M. O'BRIEN, SND pobrien@neasc.org

Vice President of the Commission CAROL L

ANOERSON

canderson@neasc.org

Vice President of the Commission PAULA

pharbecke@neasc.org Vice President of the Commission TALA

tkhudalrl@neosc.org

May 11,2015

Dr. James H. Page

Chancellor

University of Maine System

16 Central Street

Bangor, ME 04401-5106

Dear Chancellor Page:

I write to inform you that at its meeting on April 23, 2015, the Commission on Institutions of Higher Education considered the letter submitted by the University of Maine System (UMS) regarding its request for a "review process" by which the Commission could offer an advisory opinion to UMS abo1:1t its intention to restructure the University system. The Commission understands that this restructuring will entail the development of a "multimission-differentiated model," reduction administrative services to create a single administrative function, and the coordination and integration of academic programs across the System.

The Commission would welcome the opportunity to meet with you during our June retreat meeting at the Stage Neck Inn in York Harbor, Maine. We have set aside 1:15 to 2:30 on Monday, June 1, 2015 for this meeting. Directions to the Inn are enclosed.

We appreciate your offer to send a "more detailed presentation" that will assist the Commission in developing its advisory opinion for the System. We ask that the presentation discuss, in broad outline, how the "One University for All of Maine" that will result from the restructuring under development will continue to meet the Standards for Accreditation and relevant Commission policies. We note in your letter the expectation that the restructuring will result in the need for a single accreditation for the current seven UMS campuses. As you develop your presentation, we remind you that the Commission accredits institutions, not systems.

Please send four paper copies and an electronic copy (single, searchable pdf file) of your presentation to the Commission offices no later than May 20, 2015.

As you know, the final plans for reconfiguration will need to be submitted to the Commission for review as a substantive change. A copy of our Policy on Substantive Change is enclosed for your information and use.

Dr. James H. Page May 11,2015 Page 2

The Commission appreciates the opportunity to review the University of Maine System's preliminary thinking about restructuring . You are encouraged to work closely with Commission staff as you proceed.

If you have any questions, please contact Barbara Brittingham, President of the Commission.

Sincerely,

Patricia Maguire Meservey

Patricia Magriro Musery

PMM/sjp

Enclosures