Navigators and Student Success Coaches Help Adult Students Graduate to a Better Life

At the University of Maine System, our student success coaches help students start the process of getting a degree by helping students find the campus and program that best fits their needs. We call our campus-specific adult college advisers “navigators,” who work with our system office student success coaches. Navigators and student success coaches are available to help adult students identify and apply for financial assistance, register for courses, problem solve work-life balance and apply to a school within the University of Maine System.

The University of Maine System’s campus-based navigators are located throughout Maine in 15 different communities.

Unsure what campus has the program for you? Contact our University of Maine System student success coaches at the University of Maine System Student Success Center:

Phone: 207-581-7070

Email: successcenter@maine.edu


Learn more about our University of Maine System Success Center staff.

The Student Success Center staff are here to help you find the right information from the start. If you need campus-specific help, reach out to a campus Navigator, listed at the bottom of this page.

Meet the staff:

Donna Seppy, Ph.D.

Title: Director, University of Maine System Success Center
Email: donna.seppy@maine.edu

Photo of Donna Seppy

Welcome!  We’re so glad you’re thinking about college.  At the UMS Success Center, we are committed to helping you find your path, and supporting you as you work to achieve your academic and career goals – in a way that fits your lifestyle. As the Director of the Success Center, and Student Success Initiatives, I consider my role as a strategic problem solver.  I will find an answer to your questions!  Success Coaches are persistent, and dedicated to serving your individual needs. I hope our paths cross and look forward to learning more about your plans for your future.

Scott Cook

Title: University of Maine System Success Coach
Email: scott.cook@maine.edu

Photo of Scott Cook

My commitment is to support you as you pursue your dreams, careers, and goals. I support all students regardless of age, race, sex, culture, beliefs, or background. If you are new to higher education, returning to complete a degree or certificate, if you have a family, you are working in another career, or seeking to move your career forward, I will help you develop a plan, so you are successful. I look forward to learning about you and your goals and sharing my experience to help you connect to our community.

Tessa Winship

Title: University of Maine System Success Coach
Email: tessa.winship@maine.edu
Phone: 207-615-4923 (call or text)
Book Appointment: tessawinship.youcanbook.me (External Site)

Photo of Tessa Winship

What I love about being a UMS Success Coach is having the opportunity to help put the pieces of the college puzzle together with students. I’m here to help students navigate to the right program, the right University of Maine System campus, and find the all-around right fit for their goals.  What I hope to provide for students I work with is a sense of certainty and stability. Coming to college for the first time, or even returning, can be a scary process.  But, I want each student to know that I am with them every step of the way. I’m ready, when you’re ready, to talk about college!


The University of Maine System Student Success Center works with many of other campus-based Navigators across the system.

If you know which campus you’d like to begin working with, reach out to a campus Navigator, listed below.

Name: Barbara Howard
Email: howard@maine.edu
Phone: 207-581-3143

Name: Karyn Soltis-Habeck
Email: karyn.soltis@maine.edu
Phone: 207-581-1561

Name: Kim Wilson-Raymond
Email: kim.raymond@maine.edu
Phone: 207-338-8049

Name: Deborah Moody
Email: dmoody@maine.edu
Phone: 207-778-7104

Name: Leslie Kelly
Email: lesliek@maine.edu
Phone: 207-834-7522

Name: Stephanie Chick
Email: stephanie.chick@maine.edu
Phone: 207-834-7540

Name: Bonnie Fortini
Email: bonnie.fortini@maine.edu
Phone: 207-255-1264

Presque Isle

Name: Lorelei Locke
Email: lorelei.locke@maine.edu
Phone: 207-768-9431

Houlton

Name: Jean Henderson
Email: jean.henderson@maine.edu
Phone: 207-521-3100

Name: Tracy Rockwell
Email: tracy.rockwell@maine.edu
Phone: 207-532-2566

Office: University of Southern Maine Advising
Email: usm.advising@maine.edu
Phone: 207-780-4040

Name: Christopher Fox
Email: cwfox@maine.edu
Phone: 207-753-6663

Brunswick

Name: Tom Nickerson
Email: thomas.w.nickerson@maine.edu
Phone: 207-442-7736

Name: Shelley Taylor
Email: shelley.taylor@maine.edu
Phone: 207-442-7736

East Millinocket

Name: Debora Rountree
Email: dvoisine@maine.edu
Phone: 207-746-5741

Ellsworth

Name: Sally Daniels
Email: sally.daniels@maine.edu
Phone: 207-667-3897

Houlton

Name: Jean Henderson
Email: jean.henderson@maine.edu
Phone: 207-521-3100

Name: Tracy Rockwell
Email: tracy.rockwell@maine.edu
Phone: 207-532-2566

Lewiston

Name: James Bradley
Email: James.bradley@maine.edu
Phone: 207-753-6520
Name: Joseph Demotta
Email: Joseph.demotta@maine.edu
Phone: 207-753-6601
Rockland

Name: Deborah Meehan
Email: deborah.meehan@maine.edu
Phone: 207-596-6906

Name: Glenn (Chip) Curry
Email: glenn.curry@maine.edu
Phone: 207-596-6906

Rumford

Name: James Bradley
Email: james.bradley@maine.edu
Phone: 207-364-7882

Name: Roz Hodge
Email: rhodge@maine.edu
Phone: 207-364-7882

Saco

Name: Daniel Philbrick
Email: danielp@maine.edu
Phone: 207-282-4111

Name: Laurie Grant
Email: lgrant@maine.edu
Phone: 207-282-4111

Name: Tom Nickerson
Email: thomas.w.nickerson@maine.edu
Phone: 207-442-7736

Name: Shelley Taylor
Email: shelley.taylor@maine.edu
Phone: 207-442-7736

East Millinocket

Name: Debora Rountree
Email: dvoisine@maine.edu
Phone: 207-746-5741

Ellsworth

Name: Ann Delaney
Email: ann.delaney@maine.edu
Phone: 207-667-3897

Name: Sally Daniels
Email: sally.daniels@maine.edu
Phone: 207-667-3897

Houlton

Name: Jean Henderson
Email: jean.henderson@maine.edu
Phone: 207-521-3100

Name: Tracy Rockwell
Email: tracy.rockwell@maine.edu
Phone: 207-532-2566

Lewiston

Name: James Bradley
Email: James.bradley@maine.edu
Phone: 207-753-6520
Name: Joseph Demotta
Email: Joseph.demotta@maine.edu
Phone: 207-753-6601

Rockland

Name: Deborah Meehan
Email: deborah.meehan@maine.edu
Phone: 207-596-6906

Name: Glenn (Chip) Curry
Email: glenn.curry@maine.edu
Phone: 207-596-6906

Rumford

Name: James Bradley
Email: james.bradley@maine.edu
Phone: 207-364-7882

Name: Roz Hodge
Email: rhodge@maine.edu
Phone: 207-364-7882

Saco

Name: Daniel Philbrick
Email: danielp@maine.edu
Phone: 207-282-4111

Name: Laurie Grant
Email: lgrant@maine.edu
Phone: 207-282-4111


Unsure which campus best meets your needs?

The Maine Educational Opportunity Center (External Site) represents all college campuses in the University of Maine System. Maine Educational Opportunity Center specializes in connecting under-resourced adults with their best college options.

Maine Educational Opportunity Center Staff:

Name: Kelsey Gosselin
Email: kelsey.gosselin@maine.edu
Phone: 207-694-0718
Note: Kelsey advises Maine Educational Opportunity Center participants in Caribou, East Millinocket, Presque Isle, Fort Kent and Madawaska.

Name: Christy Le
Email: christy.j.le@maine.edu
Phone: 207-740-1569
Note: Christy advises Maine Educational Opportunity Center participants in Andoscoggin, Cumberland, Franklin, Lincoln, Oxford, Sagadahoc and Somerset Counties.

Name: Teri Mann
Email: teresa.mann@maine.edu
Phone: 207-551-3331
Note: Teri advises Maine Educational Opportunity Center participants in Augusta, Fairfield, Gardiner, Rockland and Waterville.

Name: Randi Paine
Email: randi.paine@maine.edu
Phone: 207-356-3485
Note: Randi advises Maine Educational Opportunity Center participants in southern Maine.

Name: Shelbie Ross
Email: shelbie.ross@maine.edu
Phone: (207) 991-2851
Note: Shelbie advises Maine Educational Opportunity Center participants in Hancock and Washington Counties.

Name: Kate Walsh
Email: kevit@maine.edu
Phone: 207-949-6501
Note: Kate advises Maine Educational Opportunity Center participants in Bangor, Belfast, Brewer, Dover-Foxcroft and Newport.