

Controller's Office Lewiston Hall 65 Texas Ave Bangor ME 04401

October 21, 2022

Tel: 207-262-7786 Fax: 207-262-7993

www.maine.edu

The University of Maine

University of Maine at Augusta

University of Maine at Farmington

University of Maine at Fort Kent

University of Maine at Machias

University of Maine at Presque Isle

University of Southern Maine

The University of Maine System was created in 1968 by the Maine State Legislature and currently consists of seven public universities, each with a distinctive mission and character.

This letter serves as confirmation that the following campuses are part of the University of Maine System (UMS) and, as such, UMS claims fiscal responsibility for the following campuses:

- 1. University of Maine
- 2. University of Maine at Augusta
- 3. University of Maine at Farmington
- 4. University of Maine at Fort Kent
- 5. University of Maine at Machias
- 6. University of Maine at Presque Isle
- 7. University of Southern Maine

The University of Maine System and its universities are recognized as a single public, nonprofit education institution under Section 501(c)(3) of the IRS Code and benefit from tax exempt status (EIN 01-6000769). Donors may deduct contributions to the University of Maine System and its universities as provided in Section 170 of the IRS Code.

Sincerely,

Janis Elsemore, CPA

Janis Elsemore

Assistant Director of Accounting