COMMITTEE TO ADVISE ON THE FUTURE DIRECTION OF THE LAW SCHOOL April 27, 2019 USM Campus, Abromson 216

Draft Minutes

Members Present: Kurt Adams, Martha Casey, Grog Johnson, Peter Mills, Deirdre Smith, Terry Sutton, Vendean Vafiades, Ben Gideon, Adam Tuchinsky

Staff Present: Jim Thelen, Sara Mlynarchek, Kim Jenkins

Co-Chair Adams and Smith opened the meeting at 2:00 p.m. and welcomed the Committee and staff and provided an overview of the agenda

It was announced that Chief Justice Saufley's present work commitments do not permit her to continue on the Committee, but that she wished to convey her belief in the importance of the Committee's work and her full support for it. The Committee wishes to formally convey its thanks to Chief Justice Saufley for her contributions to the Committee's work to date. Her wise inputs will be reflected in the Committee's work going forward.

The Committee voted unanimously to accept the minutes from the April 15, 2019 meeting.

The Committee moved and voted to go into Executive Session pursuant to 1 M.R.S.A. §405(6)(A), (C), and (E) for discussion of matters covered by those subsections.

The Committee adjourned at 6:00 p.m.