1. Home » About the System » System Office » Facilities Management and General Services » Risk Management and Insurance » Incident Reporting Guidelines – Motor Vehicle Accident

Incident Reporting Guidelines – Motor Vehicle Accident

INCIDENT REPORT FORM: Incident Report Form (Motor Vehicle)

A. Overview
B. Important Information from Administrative Practice Letter IIB
C. Instructions for a Driver Involved in a Motor Vehicle Accident
D. Maine State Police Frequently Asked Questions on Crash Protocol


A. OVERVIEW
To report a motor vehicle accident, complete and submit the following form to Risk Management: Incident Report: Motor Vehicle Accidents


B. Important Information from Administrative Practice Letter IIB
1. It is the driver’s responsibility to follow University procedures and State laws regarding required actions in the event of an accident. The University’s procedures and State of Maine requirements can be found below.

2. Any accident involving University owned, leased, or rented vehicles, or personally owned vehicles being used for University business, must be reported to the campus Vehicle Administrator as soon as possible and within 48 hours of the time of the accident. The University approved driver of the vehicle is responsible for reporting the accident. The accident should also be reported to the driver’s supervisor and to any other person or department, such as Public Safety, if so directed by the Vehicle Administrator.

3. The campus must report the accident on the required forms to Risk Management in the System Office as soon as possible and within 48 hours from notification so a claims investigation can be initiated.

4. Whenever possible, the driver should seek police assistance in recording the events of an accident.

5. Under Maine law all accidents involving personal injury or death to a person or estimated property damage of $1,000 or more must be reported to the local police, Sheriff’s Office or State Police.

6. Each University owned or leased vehicle should contain within it a Motor Vehicle Accident Report Form & Liability Insurance Information card This card provides guidelines and reporting form in the event of an accident, and includes liability insurance verification for law enforcement.

7. Preventable at-fault accidents may result in revocation or suspension of driving privileges, and/or driver testing and training, as well as disciplinary action. Examples of preventable at-fault accidents include but are not limited to: accidents caused by following too close to another vehicle, accidents while backing vehicle, accidents at intersections, and accidents that result from driving too fast for the conditions. The Vehicle Administrator will review all accidents and determine if the accident was preventable. Along with determination of driving privileges, the information will also be used to determine specific needs for accident prevention training and changes in University vehicle use guidelines.

8. Once an accident investigation and appraisal are completed, all accident damage to a University vehicle must be repaired as quickly as possible and in the least expensive manner appropriate to bring the vehicle back to the condition it was in prior to the accident.


C. Instructions for a Driver Involved in a Motor Vehicle Accident
1. Remain calm. Take immediate action to prevent further damage or injury. If anyone is injured, call 911 or signal for emergency assistance. Do not move the injured unless they are in immediate danger. Do not move vehicles unless necessary for safety reasons or damage is minimal.

2. Call police to the scene so they can investigate the accident and complete a report. If a phone is not available, write down information on the other driver and vehicle (on report form), and then walk or ride to the nearest phone. Return to the accident scene as soon as possible to wait for police. Do what is possible and seems most reasonable given the circumstances.

3. Complete the accident report form. Start by immediately completing the sections for the other vehicle, driver, injured persons, and witnesses. Other sections of the form, such as the information on you and your vehicle, can be completed afterwards. Do not leave the accident scene until you have obtained all the needed information. Write clearly. Take photographs if a camera is available.

4. Be courteous and factual. Do not argue or accept blame. Do not sign anything or discuss details of the accident with anyone other than your supervisor, police or the University’s investigator. Share with the other party only necessary information, including your license, registration, and insurance information (provided on this form).

5. Turn in the completed accident report form immediately (within 48 hours) to the campus Vehicle Administrator, and to the System Risk Manager at the address shown on this form. Also provide a copy to your supervisor.


D. Maine State Police Frequently Asked Questions on Crash Protocol
1. What should I do if I have been involved in a traffic crash?
A person should first ensure that no one is injured. If anyone is injured as a result of the crash dial 911 immediately. You should also be aware of any potential dangers as a result of the crash, such as vehicles catching on fire, flying debris, hazardous materials, possibility of more crashes due to position of disabled vehicles, etc. If any of these or similar dangers are present, dial 911 immediately. If no one is injured, a person should make contact with the local, county, or state law enforcement agency using emergency or non-emergency telephone numbers. All parties (drivers) should exchange information: driver’s license numbers, vehicle license numbers, names, addresses, and phone numbers of all persons involved, and the insurance company name and policy number of each driver. The involved persons should also write down the time and location where the traffic crash occurred.

2. What are the reporting requirements if I have been involved in a traffic crash?
A traffic crash report will be taken by law enforcement when the following reporting criteria are met:

  • The collision is unintentional, and
  • The collision occurs on a public way, and
  • The collision is caused by a vehicle in motion, AND
  • Any personal injury is involved OR
  • Combined damage to all vehicles or property is in excess of $1000.00

 

3. When should I make a traffic crash report?
A reportable traffic crash must be reported immediately by the quickest means of communication to a state police officer, or to the nearest state police field office, or to the sheriff’s office, or to a deputy sheriff, within the county in which the crash occurred, or to the office of the police department, or to an officer, of the municipality in which the crash occurred. The crash must be reported by:

  • The operator of an involved vehicle;
  • A person acting for the operator; or
  • If the operator is unknown, the owner of an involved vehicle having knowledge of the crash.

 

4. What is the penalty for not making a traffic crash report?
A person commits a Class E crime if that person:

  • Is required to make an oral or written report and knowingly fails to do so within the time required.
  • As an operator involved in a reportable crash and knowingly fails to give a correct name and address when requested by an officer at the scene; or
  • Is the operator involved in a reportable crash or the owner of a vehicle involved in a reportable crash and knowingly fails to produce the vehicle or, if the vehicle is operational, return it to the scene when requested by the investigating officer.

The Secretary of State may suspend or revoke the motor vehicle driver’s license and certificate of registration of a person who is required to make a report and fails to do so.

 

5. How can I make a traffic crash report?
A report must be made to the police agency within the jurisdiction that the crash occurred. This may be a municipal police department, a county sheriffs department, or the state police. When making the report you must be able to produce your license information, registration information, insurance information, and the date, time, and location of the crash. You must also be able to produce the name and dates of birth of all passengers in your vehicle.